Strong of Body, Strong of Mind, Strong of Soul

Hi friends! I hope all is well for you. Things have been pretty crazy in my life right now, and if you’ve been praying for my family and me then THANK YOU so much. I feel all the love and it encourages me and makes me feel so blessed.

For those of you who haven’t heard (which I would be surprised if you haven’t, I’ve been complaining about it since day 1) I have this fun thing called mono. Ah, yes, it’s been a dandy to me. We found out the week of districts, which was really frustrating, but nonetheless I got though state and I’ve been “out” from swimming and all other crazy activities for the last month. It hasn’t been easy. But it’s allowed me to have some time to think, and really think, about a lot of things. I think it’s easy for me to get so caught up in my grades and in swimming that I don’t take the time to keep myself strong. I honestly think that’s the reason I got so sick- I hadn’t taken a break since swimming since spring break of 2015, unless you count the days off I took because I was so sick.

But I feel like now that I got through this sickness I get to celebrate a New Year. And I have come up with my New Year’s Resolution: I want to be strong of body, strong of mind, and strong of soul.

Strong of Body

Now, almost everybody says for their NYR that they want to “work out every day” or “lose weight” or “eat healthier”, so I know it’s cliche (Do you see a pattern here too? Am I cliche in every aspect of life? Whatever). And I say this every time I start a new swim season, and every season I don’t do it. Well, I’m running out of time here friends. I’ve got 1 summer left before I pick a college, and 2 seasons left before I go to college. So, better late than never! My biggest downfalls in eating are sugary coffee drinks, anything chocolate, anything sugary, pastries, and over eating/eating too fast. I AM A SUGAR ADDICT. It’s a joke in my family because I watched a documentary in health class this year and it scared me so bad. I went home and told my parents what I learned and I said I wanted to start avoiding excess sugar and TO THIS DAY if anything has sugar in it they all make sure to be like “OHMYGOSHWEAREALLGOINGTODIE SUGARRRRR NOOOOO THE DEVIL BLAHBLAH.” Yeah. Makes me “smile” every time. But I am doing research on vegan foods and vegetarian foods but most of all Paleo. I just want to be eating what is best for me, and I’m starting to think if it comes in a piece of plastic with about 25 ingredients in it, it probably isn’t best.

But this also isn’t about eating. I want to start treating my body the way it should be treated externally- using correct shampoo for my hair, taking care of my skin, taking time to keep my body clean and free of toxins, etc. I just feel better when I take time for myself. Also… SLEEP. I have not taken my sleep seriously enough these past few years. I need to really start making myself get in the hours I need, because obviously not sleeping didn’t work out for me in the end.

And of course, swimming and dryland have to do with this. (**Vocab word of the day: dryland [dry-land]= any exercise swimmers do on land instead of water) I want to take every minute of training seriously. I want to love the water again. I’ve always wanted a “six pack,” but the new goal is to have a strong abdomen and to feel strong everywhere. I want to be able to go to my championship meet this summer and say “feel so ready.

Strong of Mind

I haven’t taken the time to take care of my mind for a long time. I frequently will just burst into tears because of this (if you are in my precalc class, sorry, it tends to happen in there). I got so tired throughout the year and just really didn’t enjoy anything anymore. It felt like a chore to go to practice, to go to parties, to go see my boyfriend, to do anything that wasn’t sleep or eating. I just couldn’t take much more and neither could my body. And I think this is one that I can change, I just need to learn the simple phrase of “No.” No to social media at 10:30 when I should be asleep. No to homework when I can barely stay awake late at night. No to spending hours on my cell phone.

I need to start journalling and writing and blogging more. I want to get a camera so I can start documenting things more. I need to start going for more hikes, more drives, more 2 hour adventures. I want to grow in knowledge, in every way I can. I want to jump in the pool and think of how BLESSED I am. I need to waking up in the morning and starting my day off with positive thoughts and prayers, and taking care of my mind.

Strong of Soul

And lastly, but most important and also the hardest, I want to be strong of soul. In a hippie-ish way, I want to be completely one with my soul and to really be able to listen to what I want and need. In a Christian perspective, I want to grow and love Jesus more and more, and give him every last bit of my soul. I really struggle with reading my Bible (any tips or tricks or apps that help you out?) and that’s something I want to work on.

Over this last month I have remembered how important relationships are. Swimming takes a lot of my time. But this break has showed me that I need to make sacrifices for the people I love- my family, my boyfriend, my friends, and most importantly Jesus. I want to build better relationships with those around me who I love so much. This doesn’t mean give up swimming- it just means taking the time to be with these people, talk with them, love on them, and cherish my memories.

I went to a Rend Collective concert a few weeks ago, and I have not stopped talking or thinking about this concert since then. But anyways, one thing that the lead singer said was “Seriousness is not a fruit of the Spirit, but JOY is!” And it has stayed with me ever since. I want my life to be overflowing and filled with joy! I want to shine God’s love out through every single part of me, and show others how He has taken my life and saved me and made me alive in Him. I don’t want to seek happiness any more, I want to seek joy. And for my life to be overflowing with it.

If you’re one of those people who read to the very end, thank you tons. I am so blessed by your support. I have a lot of plans for this little blog space and for my life, thank you for reading along the journey. (If you go check out my home page you’ll see I’ve made some changes!) God bless you all, I love you, Jesus loves you, and TGISB (thank God it’s spring break).

Lucia

2 thoughts on “Strong of Body, Strong of Mind, Strong of Soul

  1. Thank you for sharing with us. We enjoy you girls so much. You gave us a lot of food for thought. Enjoy your spring break.

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for sharing! Your blog is awesome! I am so sorry you have mono. It can be awful. Don’t let them tell you that you can only get it once. I’ve had it three times! One of those times was my Senior year of High School. I missed 6 weeks of school! I hope you are luckier than me and only have it this one time. Have a great Spring Break!

    Like

Leave a Reply

