January: A Month Without Makeup

IMG_4001Last week I posted on Facebook about something I’ve been wanting to do for a while now: going a month without makeup.

Take a deep breath, ladies, I know it’s stressful.

Within the last year I have really developed a hobby for makeup. My best friend has taught me everything I know, and I have had so much fun learning about it. Sephora, Ulta, and Mary Kay is probably where I spend the most amounts of money (besides coffee places). I think it’s an art, and it is used for good. If you feel confident putting on a bomb shade of lipgloss, you go ahead and put that on!! Its like having an awesome cake recipe that you put some extra little frosting flowers and maybe some sprinkles on a sassy day. It’s also a cultural thing- in the professional world you have a dress code and you are expected to look a certain way. Women need to look the part as well as act the part in their job so that they can be taken seriously. There are many people who have some kind of facial scarring, acne, rosacea, etc. who feel much more comfortable when wearing foundation.

But my problem is that I have been worried too much about what kind of sprinkles are on the cake rather than the quality of the cake.

If I am honest with you all, I struggle with material things of this world. “So and so’s boyfriend gets her flowers every week.”  “Susie Q. has much cuter clothes than I do.”  “I wish I had blue eyes and a smaller waist.” I have people in my life who I’m very close to and who I love very much, but I’m also very jealous of. Either they’re prettier than me, or they have nicer things, or more things, or a bigger house, or they’ve been to Hawaii and I still haven’t,  or they swim faster than me, or whatever. I really struggle with remembering I am in this world, and not of this world. I put too much emphasis on the material things and not the spiritual things. One of the material things I struggle with is most definitely my appearance. Of course I believe you should take care of yourself, keep yourself clean and healthy, but there is a point where you can go too far. On an average day, it takes me over 30 minutes to do my hair and makeup. Sometimes more. Over this last year, I probably have spent around $100 on makeup, and have been given around $150 worth of makeup for Christmas, Birthday, etc. How much time do I spend on praying and reading my Bible and studying God’s word? On a day I actually crack open my Bible, I can for sure say added up it is much less than 30 minutes. How much money do I give to my church or to those in need? Not even close to $100. Doesn’t that bother anybody else? Hello! For real Lucia?!

I have to remember that I am not just a body, I am a soul. I was created in the image of God. (Does that blow anybody else’s mind?!) Who am I to think I am so imperfect I need to improve myself with makeup? God gave me my rosy cheeks. God gave me my round face. God gave me my eye shape. God made Man and Woman, and said “It is very good.” God died for my sins to make me perfect, I shouldn’t find my perfection in the makeup on my face. And that’s what I’m doing.

I know that a lot of people won’t notice or care that I don’t have makeup on. It’s not them I’m worried about, it’s me. don’t like the way I look without it. I’m the one forgetting about my worth in Jesus Christ. I want to be confident without makeup. I want to spend more time with God. I want to improve my soul and become the best me I can become. And I feel like the makeup can be a barrier between me and all of that. So I have decided the month of January I am taking all the makeup off of my counter and I won’t touch any makeup to my face. No lipgloss, no mascara, no foundation, nothing. It’s time for me to take a break, step back, and become the woman of Christ I want to be. I’m doing this for me and my relationship with Christ.

And I want to challenge you, my lovely friends and family, to do it with me if you feel the same way. If you’re sick of the material world we live in, and sick of investing in something you won’t get anything out of in the long run, come and join me! You could do the whole month, a week, weekends, every Monday, every other day, really anything. And I would love for you to take a selfie and send it to me so I can feature you here on the blog.

I know it’s scary. I know you’re going to be uncomfortable. But you, my beautiful friend, are so much more than your makeup. You are so much more than an imperfection you see. God created you. You were made in God’s image. God created your inmost being. God knit you together in your mother’s womb. Jesus Christ loved you and every flaw you see so much he died for you. You are loved and perfect and good because of him, not your lipstick.

 

3 thoughts on “January: A Month Without Makeup

  1. Lucy, it’s been years since I’ve seen you…you have grown up to be so beautiful!! So proud of you for posting this. I’m sure your folks are proud too. Hoping to see all those beautiful girls with no makeup in January, and see just how pretty they are…as you said, just how God made them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

