Cliche Christmas

I absolutely love Christmas. The decor, food, family, friends, weather, colors- you name it, I love it. (Except the Grinch. I hate the Grinch. Am I really the only one that finds him scary?!) Every year I make all of these plans for Christmastime, I write out my lists (!!!) of gifts to give, I decorate the tree and house, listen to music- you know, the holiday shenanigans that I look forward to every year.

Well, this year, I’m kind of a hot mess. Why? Well…

  1. I just got back from Junior Nationals in Austin, Texas.
  2. If you don’t go to school for 6 days, you tend to have a lot of homework.
  3. I’m hosting a Christmas party this year at my house.
  4. I haven’t bought a single gift.
  5. I’m drowning in homework.
  6. I’m working on balancing life and not doing the best job at it.

Honestly, I think my biggest struggle in life is finding the balance. I’m a Christian, student, swimmer, daughter, sister, girlfriend, friend, Oregon Athlete Representative, crafter, writer, reader… And I haven’t had time to do many of those things. So, I’m feeling kinda frantic! Christmas is a week-ish away and that throws a whole new thing into this mess. I have to get gifts, organize parties, make cookies, etc. I haven’t been watching Christmas movies, I haven’t been festive, it just doesn’t feel like Christmas yet. I’m not ready.

Just take a moment to shake your head at my cliche-ness.

Then take a moment to think about how good our God is.

This isn’t what Christmas is about at all. We’re remembering the promise God made to send a savior, and our savior was born! God gave us this gift, this perfect, perfect gift, and I’m worrying about whether or not Suzy Q. will be offended if her Christmas gift is small this year. I get to sit down with my family and spend time with them.  I’m completely overwhelmed with to do’s, but God just continues to bless me. I’m so undeserving of his grace. But God is so good.

So, this Christmastime, please don’t be me. Please don’t stress yourself out, but count everything as a blessing. Remember God’s promise of a savior and delivering, and remember God’s promises to you he will fulfill. Hug your family.

And also don’t watch the Grinch. I think that’s the root of all my problems.

3 thoughts on “Cliche Christmas

  1. Take a deep breath, make a list of your priorities in order of importance and things will fall into place. It’s okay to ask a family member or friend for help. Don’t put so much on your “plate” that it stresses you out. Have fun and remember God loves you and so do I. Have a Merry Christmas and the best New Year ever to you and your family.
    P.S. Buy Christmas cookies and save yourself some stress if push comes to shove, because it’s more fun to visit with your friends and enjoy the reason for the season. NO STRESS ALLOWED!

    Like

  2. Lucie you are a blessing, please pray for Nonna and Nonno because somehow I feel the Lord will hear you because of your faith and insight!
    You will get all of your work done! Be patient! Love you and Miss you, Nonna

    Like

Leave a Reply

